BRING BACK THE Q & As

The place to discuss FrightFest 2018 - Dates this year are 23 - 27th August.
Paxton
Twitching Corpse
Twitching Corpse

BRING BACK THE Q & As

Post by Paxton »

Just watched the Leigh Whannell Q&A and remembered why I have been coming to Frightfest for ten years: great films and great filmmakers. I hated the first two days of 'we can't tell you any spoilers' intros and 'we can't tell you what's next because we signed an NDA' questions. No insight, no background detail, it might as well have been one of the organisers or something with no connection to the movie doing the introduction

Leigh demonstrated how good it was to experience a director interacting with an audience, shepherded expertly by Alan, of course. It made the film and the experience all the more enjoyable.

If Whannell can do a Q&A, I can't see the problem with everyone doing one. I have yet to see any filmmaker treated with anything than respect in audience questions- irrespective of the general feeling about the film. I can't see the point of bringing these guys to Frightfest and then not letting them speak.
cineBAKA
Twitching Corpse
Twitching Corpse

Re: BRING BACK THE Q & As

Post by cineBAKA »

I'd prefer a Q&A to an introduction, personally. I felt sorry for the guy who introduced Fright Fest, who clearly wanted and expected to do a Q&A after the film. Then I saw the film and felt less sorry for him.. :lol:
argento1977
Twitching Corpse
Twitching Corpse

Post by argento1977 »

Agreed...the Q&As were an integral part of Frightfest for me and their absence leaves a gaping big hole.
Jon H
Walking Dead
Walking Dead

Post by Jon H »